In reverse?

July 31, 2007

In this post I believed I was working to the reverse process to Chion’s analysis; that I was adding visuals to audio rather than the other way round. The more I think about it, the more I realise that I may be wrong. The graphics system I am building is being built independently of my chosen soundtrack and to be honest, adding the audio is the final step. Certain properties of the visuals are permanent, while the soundtrack is completely interchangeable.

This process only differs to film sound in that the visuals are affected not only by the phenomena of ‘added value’, due to synchresis, but also directly in form and shape by audio analysis. Possibly an extension of Chion’s ideas on film sound?

Leave a Reply

